Altar & Rosary Society
The Altar & Rosary Society is a core group of 20 dedicated parishioners that provide a multitude of services for the parish. Members of this group decorate and maintain the altar. The group assembles rosaries on Monday mornings that are given to Catholic communities in various parts of the world. They support numerous activities, including the Gala, the Women's Choice fundraiser, and Easter Vigil. They host luncheons for a variety of parish functions including the Holiday Party, Graduations, First Communion, Confirmation and funerals. Fund raising projects include the spring strawberry sale and spring luncheon. They meet monthly to plan activities. Contact Linda Leonard for more information (309) 754-8734.

Buildings & Grounds Committee
This committee tracks maintenance needs of the facilities and presents recommendations to the Parish Council.  Members promote and participate in spring and fall clean-up and maintenance days of the parish grounds. There is no set term for members.  Members are stewards committed to preserving our parish facilities.

Jim Kovac serves as the chairman of the Buildings & Grounds Committee. Anyone wanting to join is welcome.

Children's Religious Education Program
Our program provides formation in the Catholic faith for children from Kindergarten to Seventh Grade, culminating in a Confirmation program.  We meet on Sunday mornings following the 8.30 Mass from mid-September to early May.
Our goals are to instruct our children in the Catholic faith, encourage their personal relationship with the Lord, and lead them to share His Word within the parish family and beyond!  Our dedicated directors and teachers strive to meet these goals while encouraging parents in their roles as teachers of the faith.  We have a Family Formation program to help our parents learn and grow as well. 

On the first Sunday of the month one of our Classes hosts a Children’s Mass, with the students reading, ushering, bringing up the gifts and joining in the music.  The students look forward to this opportunity to participate so fully in the Mass!  As a group, we sponsor a young boy in the Dominican Republic with needed funds and many letters and pictures.  We gather students and their families a few times a year for fellowship and fun.  These events have included ice skating, roller skating, a visit to the Cathedral in Peoria, game nights and end of the year celebrations. 

Mary Our Lady of Peace hosts the Orion area-wide Vacation Bible School on a rotating basis, in which 250 young people spend a summer week celebrating God’s goodness!

We are blessed to pass our faith along to so many wonderful children in our parish and are grateful for the parents and volunteers that keep our program strong. 

Directors of Religious Education:
Tammy Mount and Emily Dochterman

Kindergarten/1st Grade – Coni Jo Pronschinske
2nd Grade – Amanda Kincaid & Carie Reed
3rd Grade –
4th Grade –
5th Grade –
6th Grade – Mara Clarke
7th Grade – Lia Nightengale
8th Grade – Emily Dochterman

Finance Committee
Members act as an advisory group which aids the pastor in matters concerning budgeting, capital expenditures, and other financial matters.  This group also tracks income and expenses for the year.   There is no set term for members.  Members are committed, active members of the parish.  The committee meets every other month.

Finance Committee Members:

  • Jim Dingman, Chairman
  • Fr. Tony Ego, Pastor
  • Barb Ziegenhorn, Trustee
  • Tom Gainey, Deacon
  • Pat Martens
  • Jan Oliver
  • Pete Nedved

Funeral Luncheons
Funeral luncheons are supported with food donations, food preparation and dining services by the parish members for the families and friends of the deceased.   Sue Livesay, Liz Seabloom, and Joyce Alba coordinate the luncheons.

Parish Council
Members of this council act as an advisory group to the pastor and share in the responsibility of keeping the parish focused on its pastoral mission and ministry.  They are appointed for 2 and 3 year terms and should be active members of the parish during their term.  The council meets 11 times a year.

Parish Council Members:

  • Jim Modglin, President
  • Jim Dingman, Trustee
  • Barb Ziegenhorn, Trustee
  • Dan Mount
  • Laura Bowers
  • Deanna Seys
  • Steve Jones
  • Jeff Scharpman
  • Jake Schulenberg
  • Fr. Tony Ego, Pastor
  • Tom Gainey, Deacon